Indian Muslims for Secular Democracy (IMSD) was launched at a two-day Inaugural Convention held on December 18, 2016 in Mumbai. Over a hundred men and women from a dozen cities across India participated.

In fact, it was a re-launch. Many of its founding members were also the founders of Muslims for Secular Democracy (MSD) which was launched in 2003 with more or less the same objectives but which had not been active for some years.

The decision to re-launch MSD as IMSD was taken at a meeting of 33 persons, many of them MSD members, on September 3, 2016.

In keeping with its policy of ensuring at least 33% women at every level of the IMSD organization, of the 98 Founder Members, 54 were male and 44 were female.

Also in keeping with its policy, 14 of the 98 Founding Members were not Muslims, by faith or by name.

A Delhi chapter of IMSD was launched on May 3, 2017.

Office bearers:

Convener: Javed Anand


  • Feroze Mithiborwala
  • Irfan Engineer
  • Mohammed Jawad
  • Nasreen Contractor
  • Noorjehan Safia Niaz


  • Mumbai Chapter: Feroze Mithiborewala
  • Delhi Chapter: Yousuf Saeed